Egg-in-the-hole

So I was looking around my shelf of books when I came upon an old children’s cookbook. Skimming through the thick heavy pages I saw a section called “Four Ways to Cook an Eggceptional Breakfast” and I knew I had to make something from there. Now I know I’ve made all the ways to cook an egg in the book, but I saw that a friend of mine did an Egg In A Basket and that got me thinking of making my own as well. So I’ll be showing you how I will be making this breakfast item. It could also be called: bird’s nest, bull’s eye eggs, cowboy eggs, egg-in-the-hole, egg(s) in a frame, eggs in a blanket, Egyptian eye, elephant egg bagel (when made using a bagel rather than bread), frog in a hole, toad in a hole, gas house eggs, moon eggs, Sunshine Toast, Egg in the Bread-Hole, Alabama eggs, Rocky Mountain toast, and Magic Egg.

Here are the ingredients needed for this recipe:

  • 1 slice of bread
  • 1 Tbsp of butter or vegetable oil
  • 1 egg

Step 1: Cut out a hole in the center of the bread with either an upside-down drinking glass or a cookie cutter

Step 2: In a small frying pan, melt 1/2 Tbsp of butter over low heat

Step 3: Toss in the bread slice

Step 4: Add egg into the hole (or you can crack the egg into a small bowl and then add it to the bread hole, don’t worry about breaking the yolk)

Step 5: Cook until the bread is golden brown on the bottom (you can peek with a spatula)

Step 6: Using a spatula, pick up the bread and toss in remaining butter into the pan

Step 7: Turn the bread, with egg, over back into the pan

Step 8: Continue frying until the egg looks done, no more than a couple of minutes (depending how runny you like the yolk, I prefer no runny yolk so I allowed it to fry a bit longer)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 11:43:01

    Childrens book or not, I think this sounds yummy – looks very cool too!

    Reply

  2. CG
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 12:09:28

    Lol of course yours looks prettier than mine. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

myTaste.com
