Fluffy Pancakes

Today I will be making Fluffy Pancakes. I know pancakes, why? At the moment I’m craving them so I shall make them. The great thing about them is that instead of using buttermilk, (don’t really have much purpose for it, so didn’t bother getting it) like in many pancake recipes, I will be substituting the buttermilk with milk and vinegar. Sounds weird, I know, but in this you can’t taste the vinegar and the vinegar will also help in the leavening process during cooking too. Similar to a vegan chocolate cake or a red velvet cake. The combination of certain ingredients will help in a multipurpose way.

Servings: 7-8 pancakes

Here are the ingredients needed for this recipe:

  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp milk
  • 2 Tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 3-4 dashes of cinnamon (optional)

Step 1: Combine the milk and vinegar in a medium-sized bowl. Set this aside for 5 minutes to sour. (I usually just combine them in the measuring cup)

Step 2: In another bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Step 3: Whisk in the egg and butter into the milk.

Step 4: Pour the flour mixture into the milk mixture and whisk until smooth. (I allow the batter to sit for 1-2 minutes and it will become thick mousse-like)

Step 5: Heat a pan (preferably non-stick) over medium heat. (I don’t really care to add any oil or butter to my pan because I like making that picture perfect pancake look on it, but if you want you can add some if you want to)

Step 6: Pour in 1/4 cup of batter into the pan and allow to cook until bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake and then flip. (Can add chopped fruit, chocolate chips, berries, etc.)

Step 7: Cook until browned and remove from pan and repeat with remaining batter. (At some point I take the pan off the burner when adding the batter to it. It’s because the pan gets to hot even though I turn down the burner.)

At this point I like to add whipped cream when serving the pancakes, but since I’m out of whipping cream, I’ll be serving them with maple syrup and a pat of butter. (Topping it with honey is good too)

Other toppings I would use:

  • Fruit (fresh)
  • jams/jellies
  • Nutella
  • powdered sugar
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CookingMamaLoraine
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 19:51:24

    Pancakes are such a favorite in my house, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

myTaste.com
